Card Making and Trash Picking

Today two things happened.  First, I actually started a Christmas gift!  I started making cards for my Stepmother.  I had the idea to make every occasion cards for her, as she is the sweet & thoughtful type.  She once sent me a “Thank you” card for a “Thank you” card I sent her for a gift she bought me for no reason.  See my point?  So. I thought it would be great to make cards for her and a cute box with dividers to keep them in.  So, after a 2 hour trip to the craft store (with a unamused toddler, we will call her Sweet P) I was able to get all the supplies I should need for the aforementioned card project, a messenger bag for my sister, curtains for my mother-in-law and 2 Dora backpacks for my nieces.  I also got some beautiful cream georgette for a “remains to be seen” project.  How much did I spend?? Well, I’ll tell you, $10.83.  My secret,40% and a gift card.  It was my birthday in November.  So, yup I am still consuming, but I hope this will be last of it.  I am flying straight from here on out.  The majority of the materials needed for these projects I actually bought at a thrift store.  Such as the curtains for my mother-in-law.  I am a big fan of getting things from the thrift store and repurposing them. But, I will save that adventure for a later blog.  Back to the cards, they are adorable.  I finished all the “Thank You” and started on the “Congratulations” during Sweet P’s nap time.  I had the idea to deconstruct cards I have received and have been hoarding for years to make new cards.  Wedding cards are perfect for this because they have so much “going on” with multiple layers and inserts and such.  At first, I questioned if it was some how sacrilegious to reuse my wedding cards, but then my practical side won out.  The cards are just paper, it was the thought that counts.  So…those cards are getting to bring joy twice!  I hope to finish the cards tomorrow and I will post pictures of the finished project, unless they are hideous and then I will steal photos from someone else’s blog and pass them off as my own.  The second big event of the day??  As, I was leaving the house to pick up my hubby I saw something good poking out of my neighbors trash.  I casually walked by and what did I find? 2 rolls of unopened-never-been-used-Christmas-wrapping-paper!! Score!!  I threw those bad boys in the stroller and lifted my head high, because there “aint no shame in my game!”.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Card Making and Trash Picking

  1. ailanna says:

    I’d love to see your cards! I also make a number of my presents (I’m a novice but ambitious potter) and in the past used to sew quite a bit. The issue I and a lot of other people have with making presents is the lack of time due to day jobs. It takes me easily 5 hours to throw a bowl, trim it, carve it, underglaze it, and overglaze it. Luckily, my gift list is short.

Leave a Reply

